Go to the U of M home page

Vis-a-Vis Faculty Art Exhibition

Date: 09/17/2010

Time: 11:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Location: Katherine E. Nash Gallery, Regis Center for Art

Cost: Free



Long before dedicating their professional lives to teaching, professors of fine art at the University of Minnesota established themselves as thoughtful, distinctive artists with their own vibrant practices. The annual faculty exhibition in the University’s Nash Gallery is a unique avenue to explore the variety of approaches, motives and aesthetics of these working artists.
The latest exhibition, Vis/A/Vis, features work from 37 faculty members of the fine art departments at University campuses in the Twin Cities, Duluth and Morris. The work spans the gamut of visual media—painting, printmaking, sculpture, ceramics, photography, drawing, graphic design and new media. While the exhibition provides a mere taste of the work of any individual artist, the exhibition as a whole illustrates the depth, breadth and contemporary nature of work produced by people charged with training the artists of tomorrow.

Faculty contributing work to Vis/A/Vis are:
Twin Cities: Christine Baeumler (installation), Jan Estep (photography), David Feinberg (drawing/painting), Lynn Gray (drawing/installation), James Henkel (photography), Diane Katsiaficas (drawing/painting/mixed media) Jerald Krepps (printmaking), Alexis Kuhr (drawing/painting/collage), Thomas Lane (ceramics), Lynn Lukkas (experimental/media arts), Joyce Lyon (drawing/painting), Ali Momeni (experimental/media arts), Clarence Morgan (drawing/painting), Mark Pharis (ceramics), Wayne Potratz (sculpture), Thomas Rose (sculpture), Jenny Schmid (printmaking), Andrea Stanislav (sculpture), Diane Willow (experimental/media arts) and Tetsuya Yamada (ceramics).
Duluth: Alison Aune (painting), Steve Bardolph (photography), David Bowen (sculpture), Gloria DeFilipps Brush (photography), James Klueg (ceramics), Janice Kmetz (photography), Beth Koch (graphic design), Ryuta Nakajima (painting), Robert Repinski (printmaking), Joellyn Rock (archival prints), Eun-Kyung Suh (sculpture) and Mariana Waisman (graphic design).
Morris: Tracy Otten (printmaking), Jenny Nellis (sculpture), Jess Larson (sculpture/textiles) and Michael Eble (painting/drawing) Kevin Flicker (ceramics).

Opening reception with the artists, Friday, September 17, 7 – 8:30 pm

Gallery Hours:
Tuesday – Saturday, 11 am – 7 pm
Sunday and Monday, Closed


  • Name: Mary Moreno Lien
  • E-mail: mmlien@umn.edu
  • Phone: 612-625-5297
  • Sponsored by: Art


21st Avenue ramp; hourly or event rates apply

More information: http://art.umn.edu

Disability Options:

To request disability accommodations, please contact Mary Moreno Lien, Art Department, mmlien@umn.edu, 612 625 5297.

Save to Your Calendar

Google Calendar
Google Apps for the UofM
Yahoo Calendar