Go to the U of M home page

Mark Russell Smith: Stravinsky's Rite of Spring

Date: 02/14/2013

Time: 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM

Location: 140 Nolte Center for Continuing Education

Cost: Free and open to the public


Mark Russell Smith will discuss Igor Stravinsky's masterpiece, The Rite of Spring (Le Sacre du Printemps), with musical examples.

The Paris debut of the ballet Le Sacre du Printemps in May 1913, choreographed by Vaslav Nijinsky for Sergei Diaghilev's Ballets Russes, caused a riot and changed dance forever. This year, Northrop Dance marks the centennial of this path-breaking work with a performance by the Joffrey Ballet (Ashley C. Wheater, artistic director) featuring a recreation of the original Nijinsky version. Mark Russell Smith will conduct the University of Minnesota Symphony Orchestra for this performance on Tuesday, February 26, 7:30 p.m., at the Orpheum Theatre. Also on the program are Son of Chamber Symphony (2013, choreography by Stanton Welch, music by John Adams) and In the Middle, Somewhat Elevated (1987, choreography by William Forsythe, music by Thom Willems). More information and tickets are available at http://northrop.umn.edu/events/joffrey-ballet.  Click here for a sneak peek of the performance.  The Symphony Orchestra will repeat Le Sacre du Printemps and Son of Chamber Symphony in a free concert on Sunday March 4 at Ted Mann Hall.

Mark Russell Smith is Artistic Director of Orchestral Studies in the University of Minnesota's School of Music and Music Director and Conductor of the Quad City Symphony Orchestra. As Director of the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra's New Music Projects (2007-10) he led the orchestra’s Engine 408 series, working closely with living composers and added his unique perspective to enhance that orchestra’s great tradition of fostering new works. He has collaborated with YoYo Ma and members of the Chamber Music Society of Minnesota in Hún Qiáo (Bridge of Souls), a concert of remembrance and reconciliation featuring world premieres by Korean, Japanese, Chinese and American composers. Whether conducting contemporary masterpieces or bringing fresh insights to the symphonies of Mozart, Beethoven or Brahms, Mark Russell Smith demonstrates consummate musicianship and enthusiastic commitment to the art of music-making – qualities that have endeared him to audiences and musicians alike.


  • Name: Institute for Advanced Study
  • E-mail: ias@umn.edu
  • Phone: 612-626-5054
  • Sponsored by: Institute for Advanced Study, Northrop Auditorium, Music


Parking is available at the Fourth Street ramp and in the Church Street garage. Reciprocal contract parking in the Fourth Street ramp is available for those with contracts on the west bank or on the Saint Paul campus.

Disability Options:

To request disability accommodations, please contact the Institute for Advanced Study.

Save to Your Calendar

Google Calendar
Google Apps for the UofM
Yahoo Calendar